Council & Staff

Council and Council Meetings

Council consists of a Mayor and four Councillors who were elected for a four-year term expiring in October 2018. The Community has the opportunity to provide input to Council on various issues such as: budgets, taxes, development and community needs. Council's powers are exercised through the adoption of resolutions or bylaws or by setting policy.

Council meetings are regularly scheduled for the second and fourth Monday of each month at 6:30 pm at the Columbia Discovery Center at 8866 Grainger Road and are open to the public. The public can address Council at these meetings during the public question period. If major items are to be discussed, arrangements should be made, in writing using the Delegation Request Form prior to noon on the Wednesday before the meeting in order for the item to be included on the Council agenda. The Council Meeting Schedule for the year, can be found in the Meeting Calendar section of the website.

For more information, please contact the Village office.

 

Mayor & Councillors 2014-2018

Mayor Ute Juras Phone 250-489-9070

ujuras@gmail.com

Councillor Marie Delorme Phone 250-349-5624

marieoncouncil@gmail.com

Councillor Erin Gornik Phone 250-341-1131

eringornik@yahoo.ca

Councillor Paul Marcil Phone 250-349-5877

paulincanalflats@gmail.com

Councillor Karl Sterzer Phone 250-421-3202 k.sterzer1965@gmail.com

Village Staff 250-349-5462

Heidi Frank - Chief Administrative Officer, Chief Financial Officer and Director of Corporate Services cao@canalflats.ca
Sylvie Hoobanoff – Corporate Officer sylvie.hoobanoff@canalflats.ca or village@canalflats.ca
Bill Doroshuk – Public Works Coordinator, Approving Officer bill.doroshuk@canalflats.ca
Kristin Magee – Public Works Labourer
Sjac Pronk – Public Works Labourer
Annette Robinson - Accounting Clerk annette.robinson@canalflats.ca
Denise Trepanier- Bylaw Enforcement Officer, Emergency Coordinator, Administrative Assistant denise.trepanier@canalflats.ca
Kim Leibel– Building Inspector buildinginspector@canalflats.ca 
David Ferguson - Fire Chief cffr@canalflats.ca
Mathieu Fournier - Arena Manager arena@canalflats.ca
Andre Champagne – Dog Control Officer 250-919-4276 or 250-349-5462